Monte Plata, Dominican Republic

Monte Plata is a province in the eastern region of the Dominican Republic. It is bordered by the provinces of Hato Mayor to the west, San Pedro de Macorís to the south, and Samaná to the east. The capital of Monte Plata is Monte Plata.


Monte Plata is a primarily agricultural province, with the production of tobacco, sugarcane, and rice as the main economic activities. The province is also home to a number of tourist attractions, including:

  • The Salto de Socoa: a waterfall located in the Sierra de Yamasá mountains.
  • The Bosque de Pinar: a pine forest located in the Sierra de Yamasá mountains.
  • The Río Yaque del Norte: a river that flows through the province.

Monte Plata is a beautiful and diverse province with a lot to offer visitors. Whether you are interested in history, culture, or simply relaxing on the beach, Monte Plata is a great place to visit.

Here are some additional tips for planning your trip to Monte Plata:

  • The best time to visit Monte Plata is during the winter (December to April), when the weather is dry and sunny.
  • There are a variety of hotels and resorts to choose from in Monte Plata, to fit all budgets.
  • There are many restaurants in Monte Plata that serve a variety of cuisines, from local Dominican fare to international cuisine.
  • Be sure to bargain when shopping in Monte Plata, as this is the custom.
  • The locals in Monte Plata are very friendly and welcoming, so be sure to chat with them and learn about their culture.
Older Post
Samaná, Dominican Republic
Newer Post
Enriquillo, Dominican Republic