Duarte, Dominican Republic

Duarte is a province in the northeastern region of the Dominican Republic. It is bordered by the provinces of María Trinidad Sánchez to the north, Samaná to the east, La Vega to the south, and Santiago to the southwest. The province is named after Juan Pablo Duarte, one of the founding fathers of the Dominican Republic.


The capital of Duarte is San Francisco de Macorís, which is also the largest city in the province. Other major cities in Duarte include Tenares, Salcedo, and Villa Tapia.

Duarte is a primarily agricultural province, with sugarcane, coffee, and cocoa being the main crops. The province is also home to a number of industrial plants, including sugar mills, cement factories, and distilleries.

Duarte is a popular tourist destination, with a number of beaches, historical sites, and natural attractions. Some of the most popular tourist attractions in Duarte include:

Duarte is a beautiful and diverse province with a lot to offer visitors. Whether you are interested in history, culture, or simply relaxing on the beach, Duarte is a great place to visit.

Older Post
Dajabon, Dominican Republic
Newer Post
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic